Viktoria Grynenko, Violinist, Recipient of the Edmonton Artists’ Trust Fund Award

We are delighted to announce that Viktoria Grynenko, D.Mus., a member of the Arts Habitat Edmonton Board of Directors and studio resident of ArtsHub McLuhan House, is a recipient of the Edmonton Artists’ Trust Fund (EATF) award presented by the Edmonton Arts Council, the City of Edmonton, and the Edmonton Community Foundation. Viktoria is one of 25 artists who have received the $15,000 award this year. 

Viktoria Grynenko poses for a photo at the EATF Award Ceremony at the Art Gallery of Alberta.
November 20th, 2023, Viktoria Grynenko, an EATF award recipient, attends the 2023 Award Ceremony at the Art Gallery of Alberta.

Viktoria is a multifaceted violinist, educator, and researcher. She obtained her Doctor of Music degree from the University of Alberta in 2021, where she studied the relationship between violin and dance and rare violin repertoire. Today, Viktoria continues to follow the topic of her PhD thesis by being actively involved in multi-disciplinary projects with dancers. 

She has recently released her debut album titled “Violin in Movement” on all major streaming platforms. Not only that, but she is currently working on publications with European publishing houses, recording an album of contemporary Ukrainian music, and sharing her brilliant expertise as a teaching artist with the Youth Orchestra of Northern Alberta – Sistema at the Winspear Centre and teaching in her studio located in ArtsHub McLuhan House. 

We are thrilled to see Viktoria’s dedication and contributions to the Edmonton community recognized by the Edmonton Artists’ Trust Fund award. This year, the EATF celebrates its 25th  anniversary of supporting artists and their contributions to the Edmonton community by awarding 25 artists. The $15,000 award Viktoria received will enable her and the other artists to continue developing their resources and positively impact our community. 

For more information on the EATF and its 2023 award recipients, click here.

Congratulations again to all EATF award recipients!